What I learned at church yesterday

Yesterday at Providence was our monthly e-service, which is basically a time where we share what God is doing in and through us as a church.  We have a firm conviction at Providence church that every member is a minister, and therefore everyone has the ability to edify the body of Christ.  This past Sunday, it was a joy to sit back and hear all that God was doing.  Since I have the privilege to be the main teacher at Providence among the other elders, it’s not very often that I get a chance to sit back, listen, and learn at our worship gatherings.  So I thought I’d share what I learned from our church body yesterday.

1. I learned that God’s Word is working Monday through Saturday to sanctify and conform us to look like Jesus.

2. I learned that idols are being rooted up and destroyed when Jesus becomes our greatest love.

3. I learned that God is providing for our needs.

4. I learned that the church works when we submit ourselves to biblical community (i.e. lifegroups).

5. I learned that children can give powerful testimonies.

6. I learned that God always answers prayer, although the answer may be different from what we expect.

7. I learned that boldness is contagious.

8. I learned that God is there even in our trials, heartbreaks, and disappointments.

9. I learned that God’s promises are true.

10. I learned that a simple song like “Jesus loves me” is still a powerful worship song.

11. I learned that there is great joy in breaking bread with fellow believers.

One of the reasons I love our e-services is that it reminds me that the church isn’t dependent on any one person.  The church is a beautiful thing when broken people are rebuilt by the power and grace of God.  It really goes back to what our church is supposed to be about – Letting God write our story.  I’m thankful I get a chance to be a part of that.

One thought on “What I learned at church yesterday

Leave a Reply

