Put on your boots

When you put boots on, it usually means one thing.  It’s time to work.  In our modern times, we’ve made boots a fashion accessory, but the origin of the boot is unmistakable.  It was designed to help you work long, hard hours.

As I think about our church beginning the 40 days of prayer starting August 1, I believe we need to have that kind of workman mentality.  Prayer is work.  It’s hard work.  It’s easier to run on a treadmill for 30 minutes than to pray for 30 minutes.  Why is that?  Because when you pray it’s a spiritual, mental, and physical exercise.  I think it’s easy to think that we can fit in our 5-10 minute prayer time here and there, when we have the time, but when you make it a 5 minute thing, it’ll get passed over for a myriad of other details that “just need to get done”.

I could finish this thought by talking about tips on how to have a more effective prayer life.  I could talk about disciplining yourself to get up earlier.  I could suggest that you schedule your prayer time during the day.  I could also say how much better you feel if you just did it.  Then I could add a quote by E.M. Bounds about prayer so that we’d all feel more inclined to pray today.

I think what I want to do is leave you this one thought instead.  You won’t pray unless you desire to pray.  Brilliant isn’t it.  I know that prayer is hard.  Remember, I said that it’s hard work.  It’s “put on your boots” type of work.  I’ve been there before on a Wednesday morning, when the thoughts of a million “to-dos” are bombarding your mind.  The desire to get on my knees isn’t there.  Here’s what we need to realize though, all the tips and suggestions to pray more will never change our heart.  What you and I need to do is repent of any beliefs we have of self-sufficiency and ask God to change our desires towards Him.  If the desire to commune with our Lord and Savior is truly in our heart, you and I will pray.

So how do you grow your desire to pray and spend time with God?  Pray.  Repent.  Worship.  Sing.  Submit.  And pray some more.  I find that the more I pray, the more I want to pray.  It sounds simple, yet it really comes down to a heart change.

You can spend the next 40 days going through the list on the prayer card, or you can labor for the next 40 days to see God build His Kingdom.  As I prayed this morning, I prayed that God would raise up 100 strong prayer laborers for Him over the next 40 days.  Over the next 3 days I’ll be posting a lot more stuff on our blog to prepare us a church to prayer-labor.

Who’s ready to put on your boots?

 

Leave a Reply

