How God used a cup of tea today

At 5:29 I made a cup of tea.  It’s not just any tea.  It’s Harney & Sons hot cinnamon spice tea, the best tea you can drink this side of the pond.  I’m thankful that God made tea.  He 44233could have just created water for us to drink for our entire lives, and that would be absolutely fine, but He made tea leaves, which makes my mornings a little more enjoyable.

At 5:35 I check to see if the Redskins won.  They didn’t.  This is to be expected.  If you are a Redskins fan, I don’t need to explain.  But I’m thankful that I’m not only a Redskins fan.  I’m thankful that God reminds me when I check the scores that my joy rests in Jesus, not in wins and loses.  By the way, I’m thankful that I’m also a Red Sox fan and I’m thankful for Big Papi’s grand slam last night as well.

At 5:44 I read Ezekiel chapter 36.  I’m loving this book right now.  I’ve had to muscle through reading Ezekiel in the past, but for some reason, God is teaching me so much right now through this book.  I’m thankful that God has given me His Word and His Spirit to transform my broken soul.

As I started to reflect more on what God has done in me and for me, the tiny snowball of thankfulness that started with a cup of tea led to an avalanche of thankfulness inside me.

I’m thankful for my family and for what I’m seeing God do in my children’s lives.

I’m thankful for my church and for the friendships God has granted me through this fellowship of believers.

I’m thankful for a new refrigerator and stove that God provided last week for us.

I’m thankful that we sold our old refrigerator and stove on Saturday so that our front porch doesn’t look so redneck any more.

I’m thankful for prayer and for the peace and rest that it brings in my life.

I’m thankful for Jesus and my salvation.

I’m thankful for all the little things in my life that make my life so interesting and fun.

But then God reminds me of something about thankfulness that I cannot forget.  I’m also thankful for the hard things in life.  I’m thankful for the trials.  I’m thankful for suffering.  I’m thankful for the hardships that I’m going through, because it’s in the moments that are the most difficult that God shapes me the most to be like Jesus.

Life is better when you are thankful.  Thankfulness isn’t dependent on circumstances, but on who God is and the goodness of life that His common grace blesses us with everyday.

It’s simply a matter of what you are going to start looking at today.  You can begin today looking at the fingerprints of God all around you or you can focus on all the “wrongs” of your life.   Don’t let the enemy rob you of joy today.

I know Thanksgiving is a little more than a month away today, but let’s start the celebration now.

Leave a Reply

