Understanding the difference between “nothing” and “nothing”

“I am the vine, you are the branches.  Whoever abides in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.”  – Jesus

“….For nothing will be impossible with God.”  – Gabriel

There’s a huge difference between the “nothing” that Jesus was talking about and the “nothing” that the angel Gabriel was speaking of.  I believe understanding the difference between these two “nothings” makes all difference in the world in our Christian walk.  

I don’t know about you but I have a bent toward doing things first and then asking God for help.  The whole abiding thing wears against my pride and self-sufficient spirit.  Unfortunately, this has led to the exact outcome that Jesus said it would.  There are many days that I feel like I’ve been in neutral.  Of course, it’s not God’s fault.  He is faithful and He continues to shepherd my soul in spite of my obstinance.  

It really all comes down to faith.  Do we walk in an expectancy that God will move or do we walk in our own wisdom and strength hoping to accomplish our will?  Our lack of faith in God inhibits us from stepping out when we should, and likewise, our faith in ourselves overflows so that we step into stuff that distracts and destroys.  

Do you believe that Jesus loves you, in spite of you?

Do you believe that God can change you?

Do you believe that God can change that one person who seems so far from Jesus?

Do you believe that a movement of God is possible today?

Do you walk in faith expecting God to transform you into Jesus?

I’ve come to the realization that I need to meditate on these two “nothings” every morning.  It will determine the direction of every decision I make.  I have to remind myself daily that apart from Jesus I can do nothing and that nothing is impossible for him.  I need to live in that mysterious juxtaposition and enjoy God fully.  

What “nothing” are you living in today?

 

 

Leave a Reply

